Richard Dinnen


Richard Dinnen’s work in technical design and production management spans 29 years for companies based in Australia and the UK. He works regularly with Andrew Kay and Associates, most recently as Production Manager on Choir of Man (national and international tours), Noise Boys (international premiere), The Songkeepers, Trainspotting (Australian Tour 2017), Operation Ouch – Live on Stage and Nigel Kennedy Australian tour 2017. Richard has also worked as production manager for Arena Theatre Company, Playbox Theatre Company, Kay and Maclean Productions, ICA, Chunky Move, Lucy Guerin Inc and Malthouse Theatre. He has worked extensively in large scale outdoor events including the M2006 Commonwealth Games Opening and Closing Ceremonies – River, Australian Technical Director for Stade De France’s Ben Hur Stadium Spectacular, AAMI Park Stadium Opening and the 2015 Pacific Games in Papua New Guinea.

Alongside his production work, Richard regularly undertakes lighting designs for theatre and spectacle, designs include Spook (Malthouse Theatre), Game Girl (Arena), Outlookers (Arena), Charitable Intent (Melbourne Festival), Lust (Colour Clinic UK), Salt Creek Murders (Mainstreet Theatre Company), Awave and Waves (Speak Percussion), Multimodal (Lee Serle), and ANICCA (Mathias Schack-Arnott).

His technical design and direction work spans festivals, theatre and interactive installations including Screen Worlds (ACMI), Queensland Biennial Festival of Music 2001-03, Mona Foma Festival 2011-13, and Dark Mofo 2013. He has worked with major festivals including Sydney Festival, Melbourne Festival, Out of the Box, Hong Kong and Edinburgh Fringe Festivals. Richard has toured nationally and internationally with Andrew Kay & Associates, Playbox Theatre Company, Kay and Maclean Productions, Queensland Theatre Company, ICA, Chunky Move and Lucy Guerin Inc.

Assembly Operation

Speak Percussion - 2017


Lee Serle - 2016


Matthias Schack-Arnott - 2016

Dark Mofo

Mona - 2013


Lucy Guerin Inc - 2012

Ben Hur

Megafun/Stade de France - 2010

Photo credits: Assembly Operation: Bryony Jackson, Multimodal: Takeshi Kondo • Anicca: Bryony Jackson, Dark Mofo, Weather, Ben Hur: Richard Dinnen